Learned Empowerment or Learned Helplessness Your Choice

Published March 5, 2017 by zuzusays

“…attitude is much more important than ability…Failure, if approached with the right attitude, provides opportunity for learning and hence for growth which eventually can lead to success.”
” Think outside the box.” That’s what I always say.

Handihelp Blog

I sat in the chair looking at the piece of paper I had just dropped on the floor. I needed the paper for what I was doing so I had to pick it up. No big deal. Right? WRONG, it was going to be a problem. I couldn’t bend over to get it and I couldn’t get out of my chair and walk over to pick it up. You see the chair I was sitting in was a power wheelchair. Many of the simple reflex actions I used before my quadriplegia still came to me rapidly when I needed to solve a problem. Today was different and I knew it. My wife and my nurse were both gone at the time and so was the option that they could pick it up for me. I knew I had a major challenge before me the resolution of which would affect me…

View original post 819 more words

Leave a Reply

