"I know he did that, but-": Mark Driscoll and being a girl in an abusive Christian family

Published February 1, 2016 by zuzusays

This is the truth of religion, and a society that still refuses to listen to girls and women.

Speaking When the World Sleeps

Trigger warning for rape and victim-blaming.

All the blogs exploding with responses to Driscoll’s facebook status (I took the url off of Rachel Held Evan’s blog post because I’m lazy) tie in nicely with the entry I was going to write about being the only daughter in an abusive Christian family. There are so many things I could put into this post, but it would be endless. So instead, I’m going to talk about the day I decided I wanted nothing more to do with my brother.

We’d had our typical fight, a power struggle. It’s always a power struggle, because the only way for my brother to stay calm and happy is if you let him think that he is The Most Amazing Man Ever. Challenge that, and well…you usually get me, lying on the floor, gasping for breath.

So he called after and informed my mother, using what…

View original post 1,254 more words

Leave a Reply

